Posts Tagged ‘Contest’

First Week

From World Press Photo’s web site:
In this audio slideshow, jury chair Ayperi Karabuda Ecer reflects on the progress of the contest after the first week of judging. She describes the process during the first round, a time when the whole World Press office is engaged in the judging. Additionally, this year included specialized juries that simultaneously judged the categories of Nature, Sports and Portraits while the rest of the jury focused on the categories within News & documentary.”

The Story Beyond the Still

No idea what the prizes, etc, are for THIS, but I have a feeling it’s going to be a pretty damn cool final result.

From the site “Introducing the first user-generated HD Video Contest where photographers become filmmakers, and we all see beyond the still. To kick off the contest, Canon asked me to interpret what story I saw beyond the still, and to tell that story with the new Canon EOS 7D. My short film will be the first chapter of seven, each ending with a still photograph for the next aspiring filmmaker to interpret. Posing the question to everyone, what do you see beyond the still?

My short film will premiere on January 7th on Vimeo, and the contest will begin January 15th. I look forward to seeing what everyone creates! More info coming soon!”

Everyone needs 10,000 euros

Just under a month left to get your entries into the Concentra Awards. Top prize takes 10,000 euros.

From the site:

The winning journalist of The Concentra Award will receive €10,000 in prize money. The winner and his broadcaster will also each receive a sculpture as a memento. The prize will be awarded annually. On top of The Concentra Award and prize money of 10.000 euro there will be an additional Breaking News Award presented to the best piece that is shot, edited and broadcast in one day and has a maximum duration of 5 minutes. For this Award, as well as the trophy, the winner will also receive a beautiful piece of hardware. There is no financial prize for the Breaking News Award.

See last year’s prize winner here